SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Career Scaffolding: Building your Writing Support System with Olivia Hinebaugh

Date/Time
Date(s) - 04/11/2021
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Career Scaffolding: Building your Writing Support System with Olivia Hinebaugh

90 minute Webinar

Sunday, April 11, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/1 PM Central/12 PM Mountain/11 AM Pacific

SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
Includes 30 days of recording access.

Optional Written Critique from Olivia Hinebaugh following live webinar:

  • Query Letter Critique: $25
  • First Page Critique: $25
  • Picture Book Manuscript Critique: $70
  • 10-Page Manuscript Excerpt Critique: $70

Having a sustainable writing practice takes a lot more than an endless stream of ideas. We can set ourselves up for success in our writing careers by building a scaffolding of supportive friends and family, sustainable work practices, commitment to developing our craft, and seeking out the expertise of others, particularly in the business aspects of publishing. This is a holistic look at your creative life, and a collaborative one. Presenter Olivia Hinebaugh has collected and curated some best practices, but wants to hear how other writers have built their own scaffolding. We can all branch out and lean on each other for support!

About the presenter:


Olivia Hinebaugh is the young adult author of The Birds, the Bees, and You and Me. She’s always writing something, whether it’s picture books, children’s novels, freelance articles about kidlit and parenting, or comedy TV pilots. She relies heavily on her two critique partners, the support of her partner, and her headphones because three kids aren’t quiet no matter how hard they try. She has too many hobbies like theater and music and art and rereading Hamlet. She also has a day job that is linguistically very nerdy. Critiquing: Picture books-fiction; Middle grade-fiction; Young Adult-fiction.

 

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration  will close on April 10.

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

Those who purchase critiques will receive submission instructions on the day after the live webinar.

Bookings