SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Picture Research: A Webinar with Author Sue Macy

Date/Time
Date(s) - 11/04/2018
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

Category(ies)


Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Picture Research

 90-Minute Webinar presented by Author Sue Macy

Sunday, November 4, 2018 at 3:00pm Eastern/ 2:00pm Central/ 1:00 pm Mountain/ 12:00pm Pacific

SCBWI Members: $15     Non-Members: $25

Images are an essential part of nonfiction for kids and young adults, but finding them can be time-consuming and using them can be expensive. Tune in to this webinar for answers to your burning questions about picture research, along with tried-and-true tips for hunting down images that will elevate your work. Sue will also share some inside advice from Lori Epstein, Photo Director of National Geographic Kids Books.

Among the topics Sue will cover are:

  • Go-To Image Sources: Where should you start?
  • “Hidden” Resources: Where do you find images that are unique and not overused?
  • Photo Researchers: Should you hire someone to do your photo research? What are the benefits? Drawbacks?
  • The Economics of Photo Usage: Who pays for photos, you or your publisher? What factors determine usage fees? Can you negotiate photo prices?
  • Rights Issues: How do you know if you have the right to use a photo? What kind of photo permission form do you need? When do you have to pay someone other than the owner of the photo to use it (e.g., a family member of the subject)?
  • Altering Photos: How much can you change an image without getting into trouble with the owner?

and more

Sue Macy is the author of 17 books for kids and young adults, including nonfiction picture books, middle-grade biographies, and young adult social histories. Six of her books, published by National Geographic, each feature 60 images or more. Sue always tries to find a unique approach to anything she writes, and doing her own picture research helps make that possible. Her quest for just the right images has taken her to Annie Oakley’s grandniece, Madam C.J. Walker’s great-great granddaughter, Nellie Bly’s hometown, and the world’s most amazing bicycle auction. You can learn more about her on her website, suemacy.com.


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate.

A recording of the webinar will be available for one month after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent to all registered attendees via email on the morning of the webinar.

Payment options:
-Online with a credit card (processed through PayPal, no account required)

-Online with a PayPal account balance

Bookings