SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: Exploring Revenue Opportunities for Illustrators of Children’s Books with Scott Burkholder

Date/Time
Date(s) - 11/12/2021
1:30 pm - 3:00 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Exploring Revenue Opportunities for Illustrators of Children’s Books with Scott Burkholder

90 minute Webinar

Friday, November 12, 2021 at 1:30 PM Eastern/12:30 PM Central/11:30 AM Mountain/10:30 AM Pacific

  • SCBWI Members: $15
  • Non-members: $25

Optional Written Critique from Scott Burkholder following live webinar

  • Query Letter Critique: $25
  • Illustrator Portfolio, Picture Book Dummy, or Graphic Novel Dummy Critique: $70

Illustrators make money from selling books–first to publishers and then, ultimately, to readers–but there are many ways for illustrators to grow their businesses both within and outside of the publishing world. The purpose of this 90 minute workshop is to explore various sources of revenue that an illustrator might build into their business. The time will be devoted to exploring: the value of an illustrator’s work, the various services or products an illustrator might deliver to their audience, and the numerous ways that an illustrator’s products or services can be transacted over with an audience.

About the presenter:

Scott Burkholder is the founder of Burkholder Agency, a business consultancy for artists. He is analytically minded with awe for creativity. Scott manages a community of artists to live thriving practices. Recent projects include: a book on a collection of World War II letters, a documentary on male infertility, and a podcast on the business of art. Previously, he was the director of the Baltimore Love Project, and the administrative manager of the director’s office at the Baltimore Museum of Art. Scott lives in Baltimore. He enjoys reading, biking, WODing, and loving his wife Jenn and their English Bulldog Charlie.

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration for the webinar and critiques will close on November 11.

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information for the recording will be sent out the following day. Those who purchase critiques will receive submission instructions via email on the day after the live webinar.

NOTE: Please do not sign up for coveted and limited critique slots if you are unable to make the deadlines outlined. We will be unable to issue refunds for missed deadlines.

Bookings