SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Leaving Room for Art in Picture Books with Laura Gehl

Date/Time
Date(s) - 04/17/2021
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Leaving Room for Art in Picture Books with Laura Gehl

60 minute Webinar

Saturday, April 17, 2021 at 1 PM Eastern/12 PM Central/11 AM Mountain/10 AM Pacific

SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
(includes live webinar and 30 days of recording access)

Optional Written Critique from Laura Gehl following live webinar:

  • Board book or Picture book manuscript critique: $70
  • Board book or Picture book dummy critique: $70

 

Imagine this: a room full of kids closing their eyes and listening to your picture book manuscript read out loud in a dramatic, expressive manner. Are the kids getting the full experience? Are they taking in all the layers of your story? If the answer is YES, then it is time to start revising. When picture book writers are doing their job correctly, the words are just one (albeit important) part of the story. Conversely, a professional illustrator has so much more to contribute than simply drawing illustrations that match your words. Learn how to leave room for art in your manuscript—and room for an illustrator’s talent to shine—while avoiding the unnecessary illustration notes that editors hate.

About the presenter:

Laura Gehl is the author of nearly two dozen picture books, board books, and early readers. She has been lucky enough to be paired with wonderful illustrators from many different countries, and one of the best parts of her job is getting to see the art that complements and elevates her words. Laura’s most recent picture books include Judge Juliette and May Saves the Day, and her recent board books include Brilliant Baby Plays Music and Baseball Baby. Laura’s upcoming 2021 releases include Goat Wants to Eat (Simon & Schuster), Who Is a Scientist? (Lener), and Weird Animals (Abrams). A fan of travel, hiking, ice cream, and books in any and all combinations, Laura lives in Chevy Chase, Maryland with her husband and four kids. Visit her online at www.lauragehl.com or connect with her on twitter or Instagram @AuthorLauraGehl.

 


 

To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration will close at 11:59 PM EST on April 16.

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day. Those who purchase critiques will receive submission instructions by email on the day after the live webinar.

Bookings