SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: A Beginner’s Guide to Live Streaming and Virtual School Visits During the Pandemic with Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Date/Time
Date(s) - 02/11/2021
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: A Beginner’s Guide to Live Streaming and Virtual School Visits During the Pandemic with Debbie Ridpath Ohi

90 minute Webinar

Thursday, February 11, 2021 at 7 PM Eastern/6 PM Central/5 PM Mountain/4 PM Pacific

SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
(includes live webinar and 30 days of recording access)

Children’s book author/illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi will offer tips for book creators interested in live streaming and doing virtual school visits. Live streaming info is based on her own experiences doing book talks and illustration demos with Facebook Live, Periscope/Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram. Virtual school visit info will cover the basics of gear needed (from budget to higher-end), types of virtual visits, and tips on helping visits run smoothly, converting in-person school visits to virtual, advice on getting the word out to educators. During the pandemic, Debbie has had experience doing virtual school visits via Google Meet, Zoom, and Flipgrid.

 

About the Presenter:

Debbie Ridpath Ohi is the author and illustrator of Where Are My Books? and Sam & Eva (Simon & Schuster), and her illustrations have appeared in books written by Judy Blume, Linda Sue Park, Michael Ian Black, among others. Debbie ramped up her live streaming know-how as she gave many virtual visits during the pandemic, including a virtual book tour that replaced her in-person book tour. She can’t wait to share what she has learned with you all!  You can find out more about Debbie at DebbieOhi.com, Twitter (@inkyelbows), Youtube (@debbieohi) and Instagram (@inkygirl).

 

 

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration will close at 11:59 PM EST on February 10.

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

 

Bookings