SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Opportunities for Writers and Illustrators in Children’s Nonfiction with Lionel Bender

Date/Time
Date(s) - 03/06/2021
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Opportunities for Writers and Illustrators in Children’s Nonfiction with Lionel Bender

90 minute Webinar

Saturday, March 6, 2021 at 3 PM Eastern/2 PM Central/1 PM Mountain/12 PM Pacific

SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
(includes live webinar and 30 days of recording access)

 

Children’s Nonfiction is booming. With increasing interest in NF picture and gift books, graphic and YA NF, and with Common Core and other initiatives encouraging publishers to produce more NF, there are great opportunities for writers and illustrators to find work and use their creativity in this genre. There is clear evidence that it is far easier to find work in children’s NF than in Fiction. And children’s NF can be just as creative, fun, and rewarding. Many of the major book awards are won by NF titles. Find out about print and digital publishers of NF, about book packagers that produce many NF titles for them, and about organizations commissioning and seeking NF people. What are they producing and seeking? What is it like to work for them? How much do they pay? Who does the picture research? Do you need an agent to secure NF work? How can you transition from fiction to NF? This webinar is suitable for all genres and levels.

About the presenter:

Lionel Bender is the founder and Editorial Director of book packager Bender Richardson White (BRW), which creates and produces illustrated nonfiction books for publishers in North America. Its has produced books for National Geographic Kids, TimeforKids, Capstone, Macmillan, Heinemann Library, Boyds Mills Press, Crabtree Publishing, and others. For examples of its books see www.brw.co.uk 

He is also the founder and organizer of the 21st Century Children’s Nonfiction Conference, held in the USA from 2013 to 2016. Lionel has edited more than 1,400 children’s illustrated nonfiction books and written 70 children’s information books. As an SCBWI and Children’s Book Insider presenter, he focuses on the “business” of children’s book publishing, including tracking changes in the industry, finding and securing work, maximizing opportunities at trade fairs and conferences.

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration will close at 11:59 PM EST on March 5.  

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

 

Bookings