SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: The Thesis of the Novel with Meg Eden

Date/Time
Date(s) - 01/16/2021
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: The Thesis of the Novel with Meg Eden

90 minute Webinar

Saturday, January 16, 2021 at 4 PM Eastern/3 PM Central/2 PM Mountain/1 PM Pacific

SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25

Optional Written Critique from Meg Eden following live webinar:

  • Query Letter OR First Page Critique: $25
  • 10-Page Manuscript Except Critique: $70
 Once you’ve written a draft, it can be difficult to figure out where to go next. A range of people will provide feedback, but who is right? How do you go about discerning what to edit and what to keep the same? To effectively edit, it’s critical to identify a novel’s underlying argument—its heart.  In this workshop, we’ll discuss the “thesis statement” approach to editing, looking at examples of novels’ “thesis statements,” as well as providing exercises to help you identify and hone in on your novel’s thesis.
**

About the presenter:

Meg Eden
Meg Eden’s work is published or forthcoming in magazines including Prairie Schooner, Poetry Northwest, Crab Orchard Review, RHINO and CV2. She teaches creative writing at Anne Arundel Community College. She is the author of five poetry chapbooks, the novel Post-High School Reality Quest (2017), and the poetry collection Drowning in the Floating World (2020). She runs the Magfest MAGES Library blog, which posts accessible academic articles about video games (https://super.magfest.org/mages-blog). Find her online at www.megedenbooks.com or on Twitter at @ConfusedNarwhal. Critiquing: Middle grade fiction; Young adult fiction; Poetry/Novels in verse.

 

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration will close on January 15.  

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

 

 

Bookings