SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: Rhyming Picture Books: When to Write Them and How to Write Them Well with Rachel Kolar

Date/Time
Date(s) - 07/25/2020
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Category(ies)


 
Webinar: Rhyming Picture Books: When to Write Them and How to Write Them Well with Rachel Kolar
90-minute Webinar

Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 4 PM Eastern/3 PM Central/2 PM Mountain/1 PM Pacific

Registration to view webinar live and access recording: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
Registration to access recording only: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25

Please note: there are a limited number of tickets available to view the webinar live. If you know that you will only be viewing the recording, then please choose the recording-only ticket. 

Optional written critiques following webinar: 

  • Manuscript critique (up to 10 pages): $70.00

About the webinar:

Some rhyming picture books are timeless classics of children’s literature . . . and others are riddled with forced rhymes and nonexistent rhythms. In this session, we’ll look at the pros and cons of writing in rhyme and the kinds of picture books that are best suited to a rhyming format. Then, should you decide that rhyme is right for your project, we’ll discuss the ways to do it well.

About the presenter:…

 

Rachel Kolar is the author of Mother Ghost: Nursery Rhymes for Little Monsters, as well as several dark speculative fiction stories for adults. A graduate of Kenyon College, Rachel lives with her husband and children in Laurel, where they enjoy hiking, playing overly complicated board games, and plotting new ways to terrorize trick-or-treaters. Critiquing: Picture book manuscript – fiction; Young adult fiction; Poetry/novels in verse (rhyme only).

 

……


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration for the live event will close on July 24.  Registration for recording access will close on July 25.

If you do not see an option to register for the live webinar below, that means this ticket is sold out. You may still register to receive recording access. The recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

Those who select add-on critiques must submit their critique material by August 2, 2020. Detailed submission instructions will be sent out following the live webinar to those who register for this option. You do not need to submit anything now.

Payment options:
-Online with a credit card (processed through PayPal, no account required)

-Online with a PayPal account balance

Bookings