SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: Strategic Self-Publishing: Successfully Launch Your Self-Published Book with Ariel Mendez

Date/Time
Date(s) - 10/24/2020
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Strategic Self-Publishing: Successfully Launch Your Self-Published Book with Ariel Mendez

90 minute Webinar

Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 5 PM Eastern/4 PM Central/3 PM Mountain/2 PM Pacific

Registration to view webinar live and access recording: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
Registration to access recording only: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25

Please note: there are a limited number of tickets available to view the webinar live. If you know that you will only be viewing the recording, then please choose the recording-only ticket. 

Ariel Mendez, author/illustrator of FEAR AND A FRIEND, will use her self-publishing experience to show how this can be a viable way to share your book with readers, and advise on best practices to do so. Topics she will cover include:

1. Writing your book
2. Publishing research
3. Planning your marketing
4. Building your launch momentum
5. Organizing your post-launch

 

About the presenter:

Ariel Mendez
Ariel Mendez is an author, illustrator, and instructor with a focus on self-publishing. She has worked on four self-published picture books, and her first book Fear and a Friend was selected by Kickstarter as a “Project We Love”. Ariel has a passion for children’s literature and diversity in publishing. She lives in Montgomery County, MD with her husband, two playful sons, and gentle English Setter. To learn more about Ariel or how to self-publish children’s books, please visit www.arielmendez.com.

 

American Sign Language interpretation will be provided for the live webinar by practicum students from the Community College of Baltimore County, working under the supervision of a certified mentor interpreter. To access the interpretation, please register for the workshop below and then email mddewv@scbwi.org for the interpretation access link.


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration for the live event will close on October 23.  Registration for recording access will close on October 24.

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent ton the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

 

Bookings