SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: The Science of Writing Humor with Erin Teagan

Date/Time
Date(s) - 08/18/2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Category(ies)


 
Webinar: The Science of Writing Humor with Erin Teagan
90-minute Webinar

Tuesday, August 18, 2020 at 7 PM Eastern/6 PM Central/5 PM Mountain/4 PM Pacific

Registration to view webinar live and access recording: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
Registration to access recording only: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25

Please note: there are a limited number of tickets available to view the webinar live. If you know that you will only be viewing the recording, then please choose the recording-only ticket. 

Optional written critiques following webinar: 

  • Query letter critique: $25.00
  • Manuscript critique (up to 10 pages): $70.00

About the webinar:

We’ll take a scientific look at humor, breaking down funny to its basic elements to figure out how best to incorporate more of it into our writing. We’ll look at what makes people laugh and take a closer look at books and other media that works. Come ready to discuss and brainstorm ways to elevate the humor in your work.

About the presenter:

Erin Teagan is the author of the Luciana series, American Girl’s 2018 Girl of the Year, The Friendship Experiment, and Survivor Girl. She has a background in science and uses many of her experiences from the lab in her books. She loves sharing the most interesting (and most dangerous and disgusting) parts of science with kids. Erin lives in Virginia with her family, a hound dog named Beaker, and a bunny that thinks he’s a cat. www.erinteagan.com www.erinteagan.com  Critiquing: Middle grade fiction or Early reader/chapter book fiction.

……


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration for the live event will close on August 17.  Registration for recording access will close on August 18.

If you do not see an option to register for the live webinar below, that means this ticket is sold out. You may still register to receive recording access. The recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

Those who select add-on critiques must submit their critique material by August 26, 2020. Detailed submission instructions will be sent out following the live webinar to those who register for this option. You do not need to submit anything now.

 

Bookings