SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: Their Voice, Their Perspective: Writing Cross-Cultural Stories We All Deserve with Leah Henderson

Date/Time
Date(s) - 06/17/2021
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Their Voice, Their Perspective: Writing Cross-Cultural Stories We All Deserve with Leah Henderson

90 minute Webinar

Thursday, June 17, 2021 at 7 PM Eastern/6 PM Central/5 PM Mountain/4 PM Pacific

SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
(includes live webinar and 30 days of recording access)

Optional Written Critique from Leah Henderson following live webinar:

  • First Page Critique (picture book fiction or nonfiction or MG fiction): $25
  • Picture Book (Fiction or Nonfiction) Manuscript Critique or 10-Page Manuscript Excerpt Critique (MG fiction): $70

With the growing demand for added diversity in children’s literature, it is more important than ever to depict these characters authentically. Pulling from personal experience, the presenter will share various strategies and resources that can help in creating fully-rounded and authentic characters which mirror a different perspective. The pitfalls and false starts many writers encounter will also be discussed as well as approaches to avoid and work through them with the mindset of striving to do no harm. This session is a safe space in which to ask any and all questions in pursuit of telling a more accurate, and well-balanced cross-cultural story. 

About the presenter:

Leah Henderson is the author of the middle grade novels The Magic in Changing Your Stars and One Shadow on the Wall, an Africana Children’s Book Award Notable, and a Bank Street Best Book. Her short story “Warning: Color May Fade” appears in the YA anthology Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America and her pictures include Mamie on the MoundTogether We March, and the forthcoming A Day for Rememberin’Daddy Speaks Love, and Your Voice, Your Vote. Leah holds an MFA in Writing and is on faculty in Spalding University’s School of Creative and Professional Writing. Critiquing: Picture books – fiction, Picture books – nonfiction, Middle Grade fiction.

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration will close on June 16.  

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

Critique submission instructions will be sent out on the day after the live webinar.

Bookings