SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: The Muse Meows: What Cats Can Teach Us about the Craft of Picture Books with Michael Karg

Date/Time
Date(s) - 07/19/2020
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Category(ies)


 
Webinar: The Muse Meows: What Cats Can Teach Us about the Craft of Picture Books with Michael Karg
90-minute Webinar

Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 4 PM Eastern/3 PM Central/2 PM Mountain/1 PM Pacific

Registration to view webinar live and access recording: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
Registration to access recording only: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25

Please note: there are a limited number of tickets available to view the webinar live. If you know that you will only be viewing the recording, then please choose the recording-only ticket. 

Optional written critiques following webinar: 

  • Manuscript critique (up to 10 pages): $70.00

About the webinar:

To create picture books, we must empathize with the little ones in our care. We must understand their hopes and dreams and fears and why they insist on knocking everything off our desks. To delve into the mind of the cat is to puzzle over the magic and mystery of the picture book text, and how to speak volumes by saying so little. Pounce on this one!

About the presenter:

 

Michael Karg is the author of I am the Wind, a picture book exploration of animals thriving in the cold and wet (November 2020 release). He values collaboration and revision, and has volunteered as the SCBWI MD/DE/WV critique group coordinator since 2015. He is also a veterinarian and founded Frederick Cat Vet, a feline-exclusive practice, in 2006. Critiquing: Picture book manuscript – fiction; Picture book manuscript – nonfiction.

 

……


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration for the live event will close on July 18.  Registration for recording access will close on July 19.

If you do not see an option to register for the live webinar below, that means this ticket is sold out. You may still register to receive recording access. The recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

Those who select add-on critiques must submit their critique material by July 27, 2020. Detailed submission instructions will be sent out following the live webinar to those who register for this option. You do not need to submit anything now.

Payment options:
-Online with a credit card (processed through PayPal, no account required)

-Online with a PayPal account balance

Bookings