SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: Capturing an Editor’s Attention through Innovation for your Nonfiction Book with Jennifer Swanson

Date/Time
Date(s) - 09/09/2021
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Capturing an Editor’s Attention through Innovation for your Nonfiction Book with Jennifer Swanson

90 minute Webinar

Thursday, September  9, 2021 at 7 PM Eastern/6 PM Central/5 PM Mountain/4 PM Pacific

Registration (includes live webinar and 30 days of recording access):

  • SCBWI Members: FREE
  • Non-members: $25

Optional Written Critique (Picture books, Middle Grade, or Young Adult) from Jennifer Swanson following live webinar:

  •  First Page Critique: $25
  • Query Letter Critique: $25
  • 10-Page Manuscript Excerpt Critique: $70

 

Does your book need some sprucing up to get picked out of the slush pile? Try mixing things up. With this interactive talk, Jennifer will show you how adding innovative voice, structure, and point of view can grab the attention of an agent or editor and get you noticed! Handouts and specific tips and tricks to improve your manuscript will be provided.For nonfiction writers of PB, MG, and YA. 

About the presenter:

Jennifer Swanson is the award-winning author of over 40 nonfiction books for children, mostly about science and technology.  Jennifer’s love of STEM began when she started a science club in her garage at the age of 7. While no longer working from the garage, Jennifer’s passion for science and technology resonates in all her books but especially, BRAIN GAMES (NGKids) and SUPER GEAR: Nanotechnology and Sports Team Up (Charlesbridge), Astronaut-Aquanaut, and Save the Crash-test Dummies. Her books have received many accolades including the Green Earth Book Honor Award, a Florida Book Award, A Parent’s Choice Gold Award, multiple California Reading Association awards and National Science Teaching BEST STEM awards.

An accomplished and exciting speaker, Jennifer has presented at the Library of Congress’ National Book Festival, the Tuscon Book Festival, National NSTA conferences, the Highlights Foundation, the Atlanta Science Festival, the World Science Festival in NYC and many other book festivals, multiple SCBWI conferences, and the Highlights Foundation. Critiquing: Picture books, Middle Grade, Young Adult

 

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration will close on September 8.  

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day. Those who purchase critiques will receive submission instructions via email on the day after the live event.

Bookings