SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: Elements of Excellent Nonfiction with Editor Carol Hinz

Date/Time
Date(s) - 02/18/2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Category(ies)


Elements of Excellent Nonfiction with Carol Hinz, Editorial Director of Millbrook Press and Carolrhoda Books

90 minute webinar

Tuesday, February 18, 2020 – 7:00 PM Eastern/6:00 PM Central/5:00 PM Mountain/4:00 PM Pacific

Webinar registration: SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25

Optional written 10-page nonfiction manuscript critique following webinar: $50.00  SOLD OUT

Using recently published and award-winning nonfiction, from picture books through YA, we’ll delve into hooks, plot, character development, point of view, and voice. Not all nonfiction books have all of these elements, and we’ll talk about why that is as well as how to use these elements in your writing to create manuscripts that readers won’t want to put down! Webinar registrants will also have the opportunity to submit to Carol for a limited time after the event. Submissions information will be provided in the webinar.

Carol is also offering a limited number of 10-page written nonfiction manuscript critiques following the webinar. (Submission date for critiques will be one week after the webinar to allow participants time to revise using what they have learned.) SOLD OUT

You may register to attend the webinar live, or to receive a link to the recording, which will be available to all registrants for 30 days after the live webinar. Access information will be sent via email on the morning of the webinar. Recording access information will be sent out the following day. If no option for attending the webinar live appears below, that means this option is sold out. You may still select the recording ticket to receive a link to the recording.

 


About the Presenter:

Carol Hinz is Editorial Director of Millbrook Press and Carolrhoda Books, divisions of Lerner Publishing Group in Minneapolis, Minnesota. She acquires and edits picture books as well as photo-driven nonfiction, publishing about thirty titles a year. Books she’s edited include Let ’Er Buck: George Fletcher, the People’s Champion by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, illustrated by Gordon C. James; Sachiko: A Nagasaki Bomb Survivor’s Story by Caren Stelson; A Map into the World by Kao Kalia Yang, illustrated by Seo Kim; and Tracking Pythons: The Quest to Catch an Invasive Predator and Save an Ecosystem by Kate Messner. Find Carol on Twitter: @CarolCHinz

Bookings