SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: Environmental Storytelling: Place As Narrative with Meg Eden

Date/Time
Date(s) - 01/21/2022
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Environmental Storytelling: Place As Narrative with Meg Eden

90 minute Webinar

Friday, January 21, 2022 at 1:00 PM Eastern/12:00 PM Central/11:00 AM Mountain/10:00 AM Pacific

  • SCBWI Members: $15
  • Non-members: $25

Optional Written Critique from Meg Eden following live webinar (Young Adult Fiction, Middle Grade Fiction or Poetry)

  • First page critique: $25  
  • Query letter critique: $25 
  • Manuscript critique (up to 10 pages): $70

Every place has a story, but to find it, we often have to use the power of natural objects. As writers, we can plant clues and seeds for our reader through objects, which can give us story more efficiently and powerfully than exposition. In this workshop, we’ll talk about place, the natural object, and go into a writing exercise that allows us to explore and invent stories through the details of a landscape.

About the presenter:

Meg Eden is a 2020 Pitch Wars mentee, and winner of the 2021 Towson Prize for Literature. Her work is published or forthcoming in magazines including Prairie Schooner, Poetry Northwest, Crab Orchard Review, RHINO and CV2. She teaches creative writing at Anne Arundel Community College. Her latest book is Selah’s Guide To Normal, forthcoming from Scholastic in 2023. Find her online at www.megedenbooks.com or on Twitter at @ConfusedNarwhal.

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration for the webinar and critiques will close on January 20, 2022.

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information for the recording will be sent out the following day. Those who purchase critiques will receive submission instructions via email on the day after the live webinar.

NOTE: Please do not sign up for coveted and limited critique slots if you are unable to make the deadlines outlined. We will be unable to issue refunds for missed deadlines.

Bookings