SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

FREE Webinar: Formatting Your Manuscript for Submission with Kathy MacMillan

Date/Time
Date(s) - 12/10/2019
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Category(ies)


REGISTRATION FOR THIS WEBINAR IS NOW CLOSED. A LINK TO THE RECORDING WILL BE MADE AVAILABLE ON OUR REGION WEBSITE BEGINNING ON DECEMBER 11, 2019.

Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 7 PM Eastern/6 PM Central/5 PM Mountain/4 PM Pacific

Where: Online via Zoom. Access information will be sent via email on the morning of the webinar.

Cost: FREE!

Fonts and headers and page breaks, oh my! Join Kathy MacMillan, author of 18 books and co-Regional Advisor of the MD/DE/WV Region of SCBWI, for a visual guide to all the nitty-gritty details of how to format your manuscript for submission using Microsoft Word. We’ll go over best practices for submissions, as well as how-tos for creating headers and footers, inserting page numbers, setting font and line spacing, and more. And you’ll have a chance to ask your burning questions about formatting!

About the presenter:

Kathy MacMillan (she/her) is a writer, American Sign Language interpreter, librarian, signing storyteller, and avowed Hufflepuff.  She writes picture books (the Little Hands Signing series, Familius Press), children’s nonfiction (She Spoke: 14 Women Who Raised Their Voices and Changed the World, Familius Press), and middle grade and young adult fantasy. Her debut young adult novel, Sword and Verse (2016) was a finalist for the Compton Crook Award, and its companion novel, Dagger and Coin (2018) has been called a “complex feminist fantasy” by author Heidi Heilig. She has also published 8 resource books for educators, librarians, and parents, including Little Hands and Big Hands: Children and Adults Signing Together (Huron Street Press).  Kathy serves as the co-Regional Advisor for the Maryland/Delaware/West Virginia Region of the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. She lives near Baltimore, MD. Find her online at www.kathymacmillan.com or on Twitter at @kathys_quill.

 

 

Bookings