SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinar: Poetry Speaks Who I Am: Writing Verse Novels with Laura Shovan

Date/Time
Date(s) - 03/13/2021
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

Category(ies)


Webinar: Poetry Speaks Who I Am: Writing Verse Novels with Laura Shovan

90 minute Webinar

Saturday, March 13, 2021 at 3 PM Eastern/2 PM Central/1 PM Mountain/12 PM Pacific

SCBWI Members: $15; Non-members: $25
(includes live webinar and 30 days of recording access)

Optional Written Critique from Laura Shovan following live webinar:

  • Query Letter (MG or YA fiction): $25
  • First Page Critique (MG or YA fiction): $25
  • 10-Page Manuscript Except Critique (MG or YA fiction): $70

There has been an explosion of novels-in-verse for the kidlit market. What makes this form of storytelling so compelling for readers—and authors—is poetry’s ability to communicate a character’s voice. Join middle grade author and longtime poet-in-the-schools Laura Shovan for a hands-on webinar on verse novels. We’ll examine the key ways that verse novels appeal to readers. Writing exercises will include poetic character-building exercises to fill your author’s toolbox, whether you write in verse or prose.

 

About the Presenter:

Laura Shovan is a children’s author, educator, and Pushcart Prize-nominated poet. Her chapbook, Mountain, Log, Salt and Stone, won the inaugural Harriss Poetry Prize. She is editor of two poetry anthologies. Laura’s debut middle grade novel-in-verse, The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary, won several awards, including NCTE Notable Verse Novel. Her novel Takedown was selected for Junior Library Guild, PJ Our Way, and the ALA’s Amelia Bloomer list of feminist books for kids. Her most recent book is A Place at the Table, co-written with author/activist Saadia Faruqi. Laura is a longtime poet-in-the-schools in her home state of Maryland. Critiquing: Middle grade fiction; Young adult fiction.

 

 

 


To register, fill out the form below. SCBWI members MUST be logged in to get the discounted rate. Registration will close at 11:59 PM EST on March 12.

A recording of the webinar will be available for 30 days after the live event. The recording will be for registered attendees only, so if you can’t make the live event, you can register to view the recording.

Access information for the live webinar will be sent on the morning of the webinar and access information on the recording will be sent out the following day.

Those who purchase an add-on critique will receive detailed submission instructions on the day after the live webinar, with submissions due one week later. You will receive your written critique via email within 6 weeks of the submission deadline and will have the opportunity to ask up to 3 brief follow-up questions via email.

Bookings