SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Free Fall Webinars for SCBWI Members!

The MD/DE/WV Region is pleased to offer FREE FALL – a terrific lineup of 90-minute webinars, all FREE to SCBWI Members!  Click on the links below to find out more and register!

 

Capturing an Editor’s Attention through Innovation for your Nonfiction Book with Jennifer Swanson: Thursday, September  9, 2021 at 7 PM Eastern/6 PM Central/5 PM Mountain/4 PM Pacific

Does your book need some sprucing up to get picked out of the slush pile? Try mixing things up. With this interactive talk, Jennifer will show you how adding innovative voice, structure, and point of view can grab the attention of an agent or editor and get you noticed! Handouts and specific tips and tricks to improve your manuscript will be provided. For nonfiction writers of PB, MG, and YA. 

 

Uncharted Territory: Finding What You Didn’t Know You Were Looking For with Nikki Shannon Smith: Saturday, September 25, 2021 at 1 PM Eastern/12 PM Central/11 AM Mountain/10 AM Pacific

Curiosity is your best friend when you’re researching for your non-fiction or historical fiction (or fiction!!!) book. There are many ways to research and many resources available, but sometimes your inner child will lead you to the most interesting facts of all. In this session we’ll think beyond the typical who, what, where, when, and why. We’ll explore ways to find little-known facts and weave them into your work – or put them at the center of your plot—to make your story come to life and stand out. In this 90-minute interactive webinar, Nikki will share:

  • -questioning strategies
  • -outside-of-the-box research resources and techniques
  • -ways to integrate research without being didactic
  • -source requirements for publishers
  • -strategies for keeping track of your details and sources, AKA “staying organized”

Nikki will use her own research experiences to illuminate the above points, and will include writing activities, discussions and a Q & A to help you plan for your own project.

 

Revisions: How Much Revision is Too Much? – Panel with Rebecca Balcárcel, Christina Soontornvat, and Ann Marie Stephens: Saturday, October 2nd, 2021, 4 PM Eastern/3 PM Central/2 PM Mountain/1 PM Pacific

Revisions can be frustrating but are an integral part of the writing process. Yet how do we know when our revisions are enough? In this webinar, panelists will discuss how to revise with impact, detailing their methods of getting a manuscript polished and ready for submission. Revision topics will include everything from making dialogue stand out to developing characters that shine. Panelists will review ways to tighten a story’s plot, manage its pacing, and interpret feedback constructively. These useful tips will speed up your revision process with effective edits, helping to end the cycle of revisions.